Guilty Pleasures

At my house, fall and winter beg for blankets, books, and hot beverages.  For those of you who love books, I thought I’d share the ones that I’ve read in the past month, in case you’re looking for something new to feast your eyes upon during these blustery days!  (This one’s for you, “TC” – thanks for the motivation! J.)

By Janet Evanovich:

Tresia got me hooked on Janet Evanovich, who writes hilarious, laugh out loud stories about her heroine, Stephanie Plum.  Trust me, I received many strange looks from Jon as he caught me giggling while reading this book.

  • Finger Lickin’ Fifteen

By Sue Grafton:

Another series recommended by Tresia (what would I read without her?!).  This is a very fun and sometimes intense mystery series, and I can’t keep my hands off them.  I’m kind of a sissy – I will admit that occasionally, after finishing one of her novels, I am afraid to turn out the lights at night, and have to put myself to bed while watching something nice and cuddly, like “Little House on the Prairie.”  Or “The Office.”

  • H is for Homicide
  • M is for Malice
  • is for Outlaw
  • P is for Peril

By Irene Hannon:

These are sweet stories that are well written…I’m told there’s a third in the series, but haven’t tracked it down yet.  These are perfect to read in between Sue Grafton novels, when I need something nice and unthreatening to read.

  • The Best Gift
  • Gift From the Heart

By Katie Fforde:

I really enjoyed the characters in this book, and it made me long to be a wedding planner.  Ha!  Caveat:  this book is written by a British author, and made me stop short a few times to figure out what the heck she was talking about.

  • Wedding Season

By Jane Kirkpatrick:

I love, love, love Jane Kirkpatrick.  She combines a passion for history with wonderful sweeping images and words, and often the subject of her stories are true stories, which is fascinating to me. How do you write a life story of someone who lived a century ago?! I can’t imagine the research (and organization) required to write her books.  I am hoping to soon read some of her nonfiction works…can’t wait!

  • A Tendering in the Storm
  • A Mending at the Edge
  • A Flickering Light

By Tamara Leigh:

This is an author I’ve just discovered, but I have already fallen in love with her fun, chick-lit style and lovable, realistic characters.  Her stories are easy to fall into for hours at a time, and leave me satisfied that it was time well spent.  LOVED this book.

  • Perfecting Kate
One thought on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. Wonderful! So glad to see your reading list, Jen. You’ve always had such good taste in books. Can’t wait to head to my public library and stock up!

Leave a Reply

