The Week Before

As I write this, baby day is 4 days away and counting. Lately I feel like I am on a roller coaster of emotions – happy, scared, excited, panicked, terrified, elated.  So since this weekend was our last “pre-baby” weekend, I figured I’d better buckle down and make it count…which meant an intense work day on Saturday followed by a complete day of rest on Sunday.

My evenings for this week are booked with last-minute “must-do’s,” including finally installing that car seat and making these Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Eggs.  Seriously.  These are #1 on my to-do list for Tuesday evening.

I think Saturday qualifies as my first (and probably only) real nesting day.  I hopped out of bed with loads of energy and immediately got busy cleaning and sorting a few last minute storage areas in the bedrooms…which led to scrubbing (and I do mean scrubbing) our filthy bathroom from top to bottom…which led to getting cleaned up for some maternity pics at home and in town (more on this below)…which led to vacuuming and detailing the car for the first time in oh so long (we can’t bring the baby home in a filthy, manure covered vehicle)…which led to hauling yet more junk downstairs (so much for a clean, organized basement)…which led to baking lemon bars (using this recipe)…which led to cooking sausage and potatoes for supper…followed by heading into town to take pics of Christie at her senior prom (she looked fabulous!).

On Friday, out of the blue, I had a sudden urge to have a few last minute maternity pictures taken.  I’ve never been interested in the formal, traditional posey-posey sort of maternity pics that bare my belly to the world, so I hadn’t really thought about getting any pictures done until now.  But on Friday it occurred to me that the only pics I really have of my pregnant self are the quick little month-to-month pics that we’ve posted here on the blog…which is better than nothing, but left me wanting just a few more.  I’m assuming we will have more kids, but if for some reason this turns out to be my only pregnancy, I’d like to have a few belly pics to remember these months by.

So that was something else that got done on Saturday.  I headed outside with my camera and tripod and took some shots at home using the self-timer on the camera, then I met Tresia in town and we took a few more.  I’m much more comfortable behind the camera than in front of it.  I’m terrible at being a model.  Since I tend to like “non-traditional” pics, I tried to get some that didn’t necessarily include me grinning at the camera like a goofball (because MAN, all that extra baby weight shows in my face).  I tried to get a few shots that focused on the belly, since that’s really what it’s all about.  I used Photoshop to edit them and I think we ended up with a few that are decent.  I think.  I don’t know what I’ll ever do with them, but at least the “one week to go bump” has been captured.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The biggest task of the next few days?  Trying to grasp that this time next week there will be a new little person in our lives.  I can’t wait to meet our baby.

10 thoughts on “The Week Before

  1. Your pics are fantastic! I especially love the one where you are sitting and looking at the the water! Very nice :-) I wish I could be there to see your fantastic new little one!

  2. ok, so it must be an emotional night for me…..as i read through your blog, and then watched the slide show of your photos, I cried. really. cried. why am i crying i asked myself? just the beauty in each and every photo of you, of the farm, barn, fence, tree and the beauty and miracle inside your belly! Yes, i’ll admit, I cried. and i am sure i will cry some more after the baby photos are shared. tears of joy, just utter joy! Thank you for posting, for blogging and for putting yourself out there for us to share with you!
    Love you both, well, all 3 of you! Enjoy this most happy and precious time in your lives!

  3. The pictures are wonderful! We are waiting for the wonderful news of the birth of your baby. We will continues to pray for your family at this most exciting time. Can’t wait to meet our new little niece or nephew………

  4. Such lovely photos! Jen, they took my breath away. I’ll be thinking of you and praying for you as you anticipate baby’s arrival. Sending every good wish your way.

Leave a Reply

